About us

Not Even Past was founded in 2010 and developed by the Department of History at the University of Texas at Austin in order to bring great history writing to the public.  The History faculty and graduate students at UT Austin are committed to making our research available and accessible to everyone interested in History.

Not Even Past offers monthly features focusing on faculty research and teaching as well as weekly book recommendations, reviews of historical films, and stories about archival, visual, aural, and other documents that illuminate intriguing corners of the past. As historians at the flagship public university in Texas, we devote special attention to the diverse histories of the Lone Star state. Not Even Past has two spin-off websites: 15 Minute History is a podcast series addressed to secondary school teachers and students and synchronized with state and national history standards; and Our/stories is a place for everyone to write their own histories.

The title of the website reflects our professional and ethical commitment to understanding history as a public conversation about the importance of the past for our actions, values, and beliefs in the present and for the decisions we make today that will affect our lives—and those who come after us—tomorrow. And besides, it’s true: the past is never dead, it’s not even past.

Joan Neuberger
Editor, Not Even Past


Joan Neuberger, Editor

Henry Wiencek, Assistant Editor, Books Editor

Charley Binkow, Undergraduate Intern

Kevin Stewart, Undergraduate Intern (2012-13)

Yana Skorobogatov, Assistant Editor, Books Editor (2011-12)
George Christian, Assistant Editor (2010-11)
Ben Breen, Assistant Editor, Books Editor (2011)
Kelli Mosteller, Assistant Editor, Books Editor (2010)

Courtney Meador, Administrator

Karl Hagstrom Miller, Theme Music Arrangement and Performance
Transcriptions: Yana Skorobogatov, Angela Smith, Kevin Stewart, Charley Binkow

Site design, Suloni Robertson and What Will They Do Next?
Site implementation, Kate Broussard and David Johannes
Site development & technical Support, Ming Gong, Lauren Moore, Ryan Miller, Stacy Vlasits

Development Team, George Christian, Rick Geyer, Joel Kocher, Courtney Meador, Kelli Mosteller, Joan Neuberger, Alan Tully

NOT EVEN PAST wishes to thank the following for their initial concept and on-going support: Department of History Visiting Committee, Chair of the VC, Josiah Daniel III; College of Liberal Arts Dean Randy Diehl, Gary Susswein and Kathleen Aronson at COLA; College of Liberal Arts Instructional Technology Services, Tim Fackler and Joe TenBarge at LAITS; Rick Geyer, Alan Tully, and Joel Kocher; College of Liberal Arts

All content © 2010-present NOT EVEN PAST and the authors, unless otherwise noted
NOT EVEN PAST is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.